Our collection of Llanelly Pottery tells a unique story about Llanelli and its people. It links together the town's industrial expansion, the people who came to live and work there and Lady Stepney who gifted Parc Howard to the town as a museum and to hold her personal collection of Llanelly potte
Local businessman William Chambers began the Pottery in 1839 and it was in business until 1921. By the 1850s it employed 100 people who made 24,000 items a week. Everyday plates and bowls and decorative items were bought locally and were sold in Europe, Africa, America and Australia.